Posted by: janedb | April 1, 2013

Returning to Work and School

School opened on the 28th August 2012 for teacher days.  It was a shock to have to return to work and still have to cope with the boys.  The eldest was able to look after himself but the youngest was to spend the two days before school with his Grandparents whilst I was at work.

Walking into work is always a shock after the summer holidays, but life also felt unreal after my move.  Many of my friends at work said they were shocked that I had actually moved but were very pleased for me and the boys.  I had to explain what had happened to several people to sort out my change of address and to protect me and my eldest son from his father finding our address from the school.  I also needed to tell his tutors so they knew what had happened over the summer.  Everyone was very supportive and helpful.

The first two days are taken up with training and plans for the academic year based on results from the previous year.  It is nice on these days for the team I work with to all to get together to decide on what needs to be worked on for the coming academic year, what didn’t work and what needs changing.

The 29th was my youngest son‘s 9th birthday.  He had his presents from me before I went to work then had his grandparents when he went down there.  They picked me up after work so we could have a birthday dinner at theirs for him.  It was nice not to have to cook and he had all his family together.  I had less time to plan with all the work for our move so he did not get as much as he normally would.

School opened for both boys to return on the 30th which was a shock for them both.  Neither had done much work with their brains over the holiday.  But with the students I came across in lessons it was the same.  Many had put their clocks round and became night owls instead of larks so were half asleep during the day.

It was the first year I was a co-tutor so I had a tutor group to get to know.  They all proved to be  a friendly bunch of Year 10 students (14 to 15 years of age).  Most seem to think this must be a difficult age to work with but they tend to be easier to me than the younger students I come across.  I can have a proper conversation with them and seem to find it easier to motivate them to get their work done.

The eldest had his first day in Year 10, it was odd being in the assembly with him, though he avoided having any contact with me.  The youngest settled back into Year 5 (age 9 to 10 years), again the youngest in his class.  What was hard was getting them back into sorting their school bags for the next day and getting their lunches sorted the night before.  Dinner still needed to be done and the usual chores.

We were all glad when that first week back ended and we had the weekend to recover.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Big Red Carpet Nursing

Fun & Progress!

Liz Who Motivates

LIGHT UP the 🌎 with ❤ ! #lightuptheworldwithlove

Bagladys Guide to Elegant Living by Dina Dove

Discover Dina Dove's new book and be inspired and you learn to love the life you have.

ostphoto

Capturing Memories One Snap at a Time

Lemons and Spuds

Battling depression, memories of expat life, life after ...

The top 9 Diets

How to lose weight in 9 different ways

My Big Business Card

Establish Your Expertise with a Book

IT News & Technology Chat

Discovering Our World Through Technology

reinventingyourselftoday

Self Development

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Totally Emily

Blogging for Beginners & Beyond!

Oh! My Heartsie Reviews

Blog resources, product reviews, events and tutorials

Our Life's Adventures

Homeschooling, Public school, and everything in between

Shoppin With Marilyn

Providing awesome customer service & quality products at great prices.

The Empowering Love Project

Empowering people to pursue personal growth and create love and tolerance in the world.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

andrei plimbarici

Calatorind Descoperi

letmeseethelight

Shedding light in a very dark place - foster care.

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

