Posted by: janedb | April 6, 2013

Returning home in November

Bone marrow biopsy needle

Bone marrow biopsy needle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After 4 weeks in hospital it was strange to be going home, I felt scared in the car as I did not know what was going to happen.  On arriving home my youngest son was out playing with his friends, it took him time to realize that it was me as I had a scarf  covering the lack of hair.  My hair had started falling out after 2 weeks of treatment. Not all of my hair fell out, I was left with thin wispy bits. He came over and hugged me, but wanted to stay out playing, so I told him he could.

I could hardly walk and looked like a zombie, with my arms out for balance and my feet shuffling as I could not lift them.  The first thing I wanted was a decent cup of tea as the hospital tea though warm was not very pleasant. After a delightful cup of tea I asked where my eldest was.He was in his bedroom so I had to get up the stairs. After 4 weeks of being virtually bed bound this was very difficult. He was pleased to see me, but was shocked that my diagnosis was similar to his.

Mum cooked dinner for us all, and we ate as a family, with my dad joining us.  It was nice to have a home-cooked meal though I still had little appetite.  I was also on the neutropenic diet so their were foods that were banned from my diet to stop me getting ill. For me it meant no salads, fruit that could not be pealed, no prawns or takeaways.

My youngest joined me in bed that night, a reaction to me being away for so long, though he had coped well with my absence. Being at home with just the two boys was scary as I was worried about getting ill. I was in remission, A bone marrow done in the last week of hospital had confirmed the treatment had been successful. My next treatments were consolidation to keep the leukemia away.

The bone marrow test had been done in my bed space on the ward, as I was isolated due to the Norovirus. They brought the equipment to take a bone marrow aspirate to my bed side along with a tank of gas and air.  The test was done with the curtain drawn round for privacy, with the nurses laughing at the noise made by the gas and air as I was taking great gulps of it. It was making a very funny noise. Gas and air is great stuff for getting through pain as I just feel like I am floating on the ceiling. The staff on Ward 41 were all very friendly and put you at your ease. I had learnt to trust, to let go and not need to be in control.  These people were the experts and knew what was best for me.

My parents wanted to know if I wanted to let my ex know, but I refused as I did not want him trying to get the boys.  I did not want any kind of custody battle whilst I was having treatment. As it is he has not shown any interest in them since we left him.

I was released on the Friday and had the weekend at home before treatment started again on the Day Unit the following Monday.  It took most of the weekend to be able to walk reasonably normal again though it was good to be home to enjoy my own surroundings.

Responses

  1. I’m also a single parent and I, too, rely heavily on the support of my parents. We are lucky to have them, aren’t we?

    My prayers are with you and your boys.

    • Thank you for your comments, we are very lucky to have parents that help.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Big Red Carpet Nursing

Fun & Progress!

Liz Who Motivates

LIGHT UP the 🌎 with ❤ ! #lightuptheworldwithlove

Bagladys Guide to Elegant Living by Dina Dove

Discover Dina Dove's new book and be inspired and you learn to love the life you have.

ostphoto

Capturing Memories One Snap at a Time

Lemons and Spuds

Battling depression, memories of expat life, life after ...

The top 9 Diets

How to lose weight in 9 different ways

My Big Business Card

Establish Your Expertise with a Book

IT News & Technology Chat

Discovering Our World Through Technology

reinventingyourselftoday

Self Development

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Totally Emily

Blogging for Beginners & Beyond!

Oh! My Heartsie Reviews

Blog resources, product reviews, events and tutorials

Our Life's Adventures

Homeschooling, Public school, and everything in between

Shoppin With Marilyn

Providing awesome customer service & quality products at great prices.

The Empowering Love Project

Empowering people to pursue personal growth and create love and tolerance in the world.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

andrei plimbarici

Calatorind Descoperi

letmeseethelight

Shedding light in a very dark place - foster care.

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

