Posted by: janedb | April 11, 2013

4th January 2013

I suspected I would be going into hospital but I did not expect my re admittance to be so dramatic. I knew I was not feeling right when I went to bed and thought I was going down with a virus and would phone the ward after a sleep in my own bed.

At 6.00 a.m. I awoke wanting to go to the toilet, when I tried to get off the toilet I collapsed and must have bumped my head on half the bathroom trying to stand up. I could not understand what was wrong and my boys came out of their bedrooms to see me on the bathroom floor.

They rang their grandparents number whilst I crawled back to bed, my dad answered and did not understand the urgency of the situation. He did not wake my mum and I went back to sleep, I know that was the wrong thing to do but I felt disorientated.

Mum came round at 9.00 a.m. when dad had told her, and she was shocked to see when eye shut and one half shut, I had two black eyes.  She got cold compresses to try and bring down the swelling and rang ward 41.  They told her I needed to come in to the Accident and Emergency Department (A&E). She rang my dad and told him to come round to look after the boys as I had to go in. My boys were shocked to see the state of me and were still dealing with images of me earlier in the morning. It was uncomfortable to wear my glasses as they dug into the swelling.

My case sits in my room permanently part packed as if I was a pregnant women awaiting birth, she just added in a few extra items and we were on our way. I was feeling sick so I was holding a bowl in front of me and sat in the back so as not to distract mum.

On arrival she had to find somewhere to park near A&E. I walked in and there was a queue, mum had to leave me so she could move the car.  I couldn’t stand without feeling sick so asked if I could sit.  When it was my turn to go to the desk I handed over the letter I was given on my release on the 2nd January and said that I needed to sit. Every time I stood I was swaying as if I was going to faint. The receptionist got straight on the phone to get someone from Triage to get me.

I was walked round the corner whilst a trolley was found. Once on the trolley I was sick and was moved straight to Resus.   Everything seemed to happen fast. Two iv’s were put in for fluid and antibiotics, blood was taken for cultures, and I was whisked off for a CT scan of my head. I then had a chest Xray. My CT scan was clear so I had no bleeding on my brain and my chest Xray showed no infection. My consultants were informed I was in and doctors came to liaise with the A&E staff. I was in A&E for 9 hours being monitored.

Most of the time is a blur as I was not really with it. The staff were excellent and very caring. I just remember having different fluids put in via IV. They allowed mum to stay with me but once it got to afternoon and I was waiting for a bed, she left. I spent the time sleeping on and off. I was offered food but just wanted a drink, so I was given a cup of tea.

After 9.00 p.m.  I was moved to ward 41 and into a side room in case I was infectious and could pass something on to others. Some would think a side room would be nice with its own bathroom but for me they are isolating. I had spent a bad week in a side room in my first month of treatment and really did not like to be cut off from others. I did not want to repeat how I felt the previous time. That week I had been unable to sleep, due to worry about messing myself I refused sleeping tablets and spent most of the nights awake. I had hallucinated, giraffes came out of the door, a little man waved at me from the strip light and the smoke alarm turned into a PAC man.

I had asked to go home in an ambulance that week, due to the despair caused by continuous diarrhea, it had made me want to give up. This time I knew I had to fight those feelings.

Responses

  1. Wow, what a story. That must have been a tough time for you. Blessings,

    • It was tough but I had excellent care.

  2. I identify with some of the things you suffered and feel awful about the rest. I’m so glad you seem to be doing better now! What wonderful parents you have.

    • I am very lucky particularly due to their ages, my dad is 80 and my mum 76 or though they both look much younger. My mum still teaches a yoga class.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Big Red Carpet Nursing

Fun & Progress!

Liz Who Motivates

LIGHT UP the 🌎 with ❤ ! #lightuptheworldwithlove

Bagladys Guide to Elegant Living by Dina Dove

Discover Dina Dove's new book and be inspired and you learn to love the life you have.

ostphoto

Capturing Memories One Snap at a Time

Lemons and Spuds

Battling depression, memories of expat life, life after ...

The top 9 Diets

How to lose weight in 9 different ways

My Big Business Card

Establish Your Expertise with a Book

IT News & Technology Chat

Discovering Our World Through Technology

reinventingyourselftoday

Self Development

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Totally Emily

Blogging for Beginners & Beyond!

Oh! My Heartsie Reviews

Blog resources, product reviews, events and tutorials

Our Life's Adventures

Homeschooling, Public school, and everything in between

Shoppin With Marilyn

Providing awesome customer service & quality products at great prices.

The Empowering Love Project

Empowering people to pursue personal growth and create love and tolerance in the world.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

andrei plimbarici

Calatorind Descoperi

letmeseethelight

Shedding light in a very dark place - foster care.

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

