Posted by: janedb | September 16, 2014

It returned but I am still here.

I finally got told I was all clear at the next clinic appointment, but there was bad news to come.  My worst nightmare had come true, the leukaemia was back.

I will detail in further posts all the complications with the second round of treatment, the highs and lows, but for today I just want to state I am a survivor. During dealing with the leukaemia, I have also had to deal with house repossession, Police searching for my ex, and demands for his debts that occurred  after he left.

I have taken myself from rock bottom fitness and mood wise to where I am now, able to deal with what ever curve balls life decides to throw my way. Nothing is going to knock me down for good. I am a cat with nine lives and I still have some to use.

Tomorrow I do the second day of my phased return to work. Only two hours, but after two years of treatment it is enough as I am going into the classroom again as teaching assistant on my own without any chance to shadow a fellow worker. Scary, but they obviously have faith in my abilities. I hope that it all clicks back into place when I am in the classroom, but I think it is normal after two years to feel nervous.

Today I had a bone marrow aspirate and the nurses in the treatment room realised I was there due to my laugh in the waiting room. It is an unpleasant and painful experience but I get a legal high from the gas and air (Entonox – half oxygen and half nitrous oxide). I do not know if because I have has so much of it I seem more affected by it, but I still feel high now and I left the treatment room at 11.00 a.m. British Summer Time. Another piece of wisdom I have to share is never do your grocery shopping on-line after having it. When I did I over stocked on non perishable items and my boys were ‘Where are we going to put this Mum?’. At least my next orders were very much cheaper.

Having a warped sense of humour has got me through and will continue to aid me with whatever challenges are sent my way. I was told I looked to well to be there, and that is great because I am getting stronger. For me going back to the ward, it is like going to visit family and if I can spread some happiness and cheer while I am there all the better.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Big Red Carpet Nursing

Fun & Progress!

Liz Who Motivates

LIGHT UP the 🌎 with ❤ ! #lightuptheworldwithlove

Bagladys Guide to Elegant Living by Dina Dove

Discover Dina Dove's new book and be inspired and you learn to love the life you have.

ostphoto

Capturing Memories One Snap at a Time

Lemons and Spuds

Battling depression, memories of expat life, life after ...

The top 9 Diets

How to lose weight in 9 different ways

My Big Business Card

Establish Your Expertise with a Book

IT News & Technology Chat

Discovering Our World Through Technology

reinventingyourselftoday

Self Development

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Totally Emily

Blogging for Beginners & Beyond!

Oh! My Heartsie Reviews

Blog resources, product reviews, events and tutorials

Our Life's Adventures

Homeschooling, Public school, and everything in between

Shoppin With Marilyn

Providing awesome customer service & quality products at great prices.

The Empowering Love Project

Empowering people to pursue personal growth and create love and tolerance in the world.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

andrei plimbarici

Calatorind Descoperi

letmeseethelight

Shedding light in a very dark place - foster care.

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

